Kan Driving Limousine Crash Resistance Safe

Cing-Dao Kan, Professor/Director, Center for Collision Safety and Analysis (CCSA), received funding from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) for: “NHTSA Finite Elements Modeling Services IDIQ Limousine Crashworthiness Safety Research.”

For this project, Kan and his collaborators will focus on side impact protection, roof crash resistance, airbag systems and perimeter seating configurations for rear occupants.

They will mainly focus on the rear cabin. However, NHTSA would like, and Mason researchers are well prepared to take advantage, to develop models for the front-row cabin as well. Therefore, the development of the initial finite element (FE) models will include the first row.

The physical tests will include front and rear anthropomorphic test devices (ATD) and will be used for validation of the developed limousine FE models. However, first row parametric simulations and the development of updated front row airbag systems will not be performed at this time.

Different classes of limousines, such as stretch limos versus van-converted limos, can have significantly different crash characteristics, particularly in side impact configurations, depending on sill height and other structural features . It is expected that two (2) models of FE limousines representing these categories will be developed and used during this research.

Kan received $763,109 from NHTSA for this research. Funding began in September 2022 and will end in July 2023.


About George Mason University

George Mason University is Virginia’s largest public research university. Located near Washington, DC, Mason enrolls 38,000 students from 130 countries and all 50 states. Mason has grown rapidly over the past half-century and is recognized for its innovation and entrepreneurial spirit, remarkable diversity and commitment to accessibility. Learn more at http://www.gmu.edu.

Disclaimer:AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of press releases posted on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.